













London Conference FAQs - click here London Conference Welcome Brochure - click here

Programme Summary, 15 – 17 February 2009

- On 15-17th Feb 2009, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the Inter-parliamentary Coalition for Combating Antisemitism (ICCA) will launch an international summit conference designed to formulate new strategies for countering global antisemitism.
- The conference, co-sponsored by the Department of Communities and Local Government, will bring to Westminster more than 100 lawmakers from 35 countries who will work intensively with leading academics, legal experts and specialists in the field to devise ways by which parliamentary systems can work with governments to combat antisemitism as a global threat.
- The London Conference on Combating Antisemitism marks the first time that ranking elected officials will have the opportunity to meet face-to-face, and break out into working groups with international experts from academia, law enforcement, information technology and security.
- For two days, lawmakers will share knowledge, experiences, best practice and the latest information in the areas of internet hate, policing and prosecution, antisemitism in the international arena, antisemitic discourse and the 'new antisemitism.'

Their task will be devise effective strategies to combat antisemitism on the parliamentary level and to return to their home countries with the tools needed to spur their governments to action.

Sunday, 15 February 2009

18.30 - 20.30 Opening Reception

Monday, 16 February 2009

08.30 Breakfast -House of Commons

10.00 - 15.30 Working Group Sessions

13.00 – 14.00 Lunch -House of Commons

17.30 - 19.00 10 Downing Street Reception

19.00 – 22.00 Dinner (Franco Frattini, Foreign Minister, Italy)

Tuesday, 17 February

Lancaster House, Foreign & Commonwealth Office

Plenary Sessions with keynote speeches from:

1. Congressman Chris Smith, House of Representatives, USA (ICCA Steering Committee)

- 2. Dr. Barbara Prammer, President of the Austrian National Council
- 3. Lord Malloch-Brown, Cabinet Minister, United Kingdom
- 4. Dr. Solomon Passy, Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee and Former Foreign Minister, Bulgaria
- 5. Petra Pau MP, Vice-President of the Bundestag, Germany
- 6. Dr Pavel Svoboda MP, Minister and Chairman of the Legislative Council of the Government, Czech Republic
- 7. Dr. Fiamma Nirenstein, Vice-President of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Chamber of Deputies, Italy (ICCA Steering Committee)
- 8. Jason Kenney MP, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism, Canada
- 9. André Azoulay, Counsellor to His Majesty the King Mohammed VI, Morocco
- 10. Prof. Iulian Fota, National Security Advisor to the President, Romania
- 11. Natan Sharansky, former Minister and Member of Parliament, Israel
- 12. Prof. Irwin Cotler, Member of Parliament, former Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Canada (ICCA Steering Committee)
- 13. Dr. Alberto Nisman, State Prosecutor, Argentina
- 14. Senator Sergio Abreu, International Affairs Committee and Former Foreign Minister, Uruguay
- 15. Peter Caruana QC, Chief Minister, Gibraltar
- 16. The Bishop of Manchester
- 17. Rabbi Andrew Baker, Personal Representative of the Chairman-in-Office of the OSCE on Combating Antisemitism

Plenary sessions begin at 09:30 and will conclude approximately 17:00.

News Conference Lancaster House

Precise participants and timings TBC

Closing Reception

17.30 - 19.00

Richard Angell

Parliamentary & Press Officer
All-Party Parliamentary Group against Antisemitism
T: +44 (0)20 7219 8345
M: +44 (0)7966 161 444
F: +44 (0)20 7219 5965
angellr@parliament.uk
angellr@antisemitism.org.uk

Dr Winston Pickett
Media Relations
London Conference on Combating Antisemitism
Inter-parliamentary Coalition Against Antisemitism
M: +44 (0)7932 075 625
E: winstonp@eisca.eu

Inter-parliamentary Coalition for Combating Antisemitism (ICCA) Steering Committee: John Mann MP, UK Parliament • Irwin Cotler MP Canadian Parliament • Chris Smith, US House of Representatives • Gert Weisskirchen, German Bundestag • Isaac Herzog, Israeli Knesset • Fiamma Nirenstein, Italian Parliament