

THE EQUAL RIGHTS TRUST

1 Hammersmith Grove London W6 0NB United Kingdom

Tel.: +44 (0) 20 3178 4113 info@equairightstrust.org www.equairightstrust.org

Board of Directors

Bob Hepple (Chair) Shami Chakrabarti Thomas Hammarberg Claire L'Heureux-Dubé Gay McDougall Anuradha Mohit Kate O'Regan Sonia Picado Michael Rubenstein Joseph Schull Theodore Shaw

The Equal Rights Trust is a company limited by guarantee incorporated in England. Company number 5559173. It is also a registered charity, number 1113288.

Dimitrina Petrova

Executive Director

Conference

"PRINCIPLES ON EQUALITY

AND DEVELOPMENT OF LEGAL STANDARDS ON EQUALITY"

London, 3 - 5 April 2008

PARTICIPANTS

Robin Allen QC (UK), Head of Cloisters Chambers, London

Sue Ashtiany (UK), Partner, NABARRO, London

Prof. Mark Bell (UK), Professor of Law, University of Leicester, Department of Law, Leicester

Slim Ben Achour (France), Practicing lawyer, President of the Anti-discrimination Commission of the Syndicat des Avocats de France, Paris

Tapan Kumar Bose (Nepal), Secretary General, South Asia Forum for Human Rights, Kathmandu

Ung Bunthan (Cambodia), Consultant, Cambodian League for the Promotion and Defence of Human Rights (LICADHO), Phnom Penh

Shami Chakrabarti (UK), Director, Liberty; Trustee, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Boriss Cilevics (Latvia), MP, Parliament of Latvia, Riga; Member, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, Strasbourg

Jarlath Clifford (UK), Legal Officer, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Barbara Cohen (UK), Independent Consultant, London

Constantin Cojocariu (Romania), Legal Officer, Interights, London

Andrea Coomber (Australia), Senior Lawyer, Interights, London

Yuri Dzhibladze (Russia), Director, Centre for the Development of Democracy and Human Rights, Moscow

Salim Ebrahim (South Africa), Attorney, Johannesburg Bar, Johannesburg

Jafar Farah (Israel), Director, Mossawa Centre -- the Advocacy Centre for Arab Citizens of Israel, Haifa

Maxim Ferschtman (The Netherlands), Senior Legal Advisor, Equality and Citizenship, Open Society Justice Initiative, Amsterdam

Ivan Fišer (UK), Research and Advocacy Director, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Prof. Sandra Fredman (South Africa/UK), Professor of Law, Exeter College, Oxford

Donatella Fregonese (Italy), Programmes Assistant, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Gilberto Rincon Gallardo (Mexico), President, National Council for the Prevention of Discrimination, Mexico City

Prof. Roberto Gargarella (Argentina), Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Torcuato di Tella, Buenos Aires

Alejandro Becerra Gelover (Mexico), Director, Outreach and International Affairs, National Council for the Prevention of Discrimination, Mexico City

Sinan Gökcen (Turkey), Media and Communications Manager, European Roma Rights Centre, Budapest; Consultant, Helsinki Citizens' Assembly, Istanbul

Prof. Jenny Goldschmidt (The Netherlands), Director, Netherlands Institute for Human Rights (SIM), Utrecht

James A. Goldston (USA), Executive Director, Open Society Institute Justice Initiative, New York

Veronika Szente Goldston (Sweden/USA), Advocacy Director for Europe and Central Asia, Human Rights Watch, New York

Stefanie Grant (UK), Solicitor, Harrison and Grant Solicitors, London

Professor Sir Bob Hepple QC (UK), Chair of the Board, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Surat Ikramov (Uzbekistan), Chair, Initiative Group of Human Rights Defenders, Tashkent

Margarita Ilieva (Bulgaria), Deputy Chairperson and Director of the Equality Programme, Bulgarian Helsinki Committee, Sofia

Imrana Jalal (Fiji Islands), Human Rights Advisor, Regional Rights Resources Team, Suva

András Kádár (Hungary), Co-chair, Hungarian Helsinki Committee, Budapest

Krassimir Kanev (Bulgaria), Chair, Bulgarian Helsinki Committee, Sofia

Mark Lattimer (UK), Executive Director, Minority Rights Group International, London

Eileen Lavery (UK), Head of Strategic Enforcement, Equality Commission for Northern Ireland, Belfast

Alice Leonard (UK), Independent Legal Expert, Bath

Anthony, Lord Lester of Herne Hill QC (UK), Peer, House of Lords; Advisor to the Prime Minister on Constitutional Reform; Founding Chair of the Equal Rights Trust, London

Oliver Lewis (Hungary/UK), Executive Director, Mental Disability Advocacy Centre, Budapest

Claire L'Heureux-Dubé (Canada), Retired Supreme Court judge; Trustee, The Equal Rights Trust, Québec City, Canada

Scott Long (USA), Programme Drector LGBT Programme, Human Rights Watch, New York

Janet Love (South Africa), Executive Director, Legal Resources Centre, Johannesburg

Prof. Tiyanjana Maluwa (Malawi/South Africa), Director, School of International Affairs, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, USA

Prof. Christopher McCrudden (UK), Professor of Human Rights Law, Lincoln College, Oxford

Gay Moon (UK), Special Legal Advisor, Equality and Diversity Forum, London

Niraj Nathwani (Austria), Programme Manager, European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA), Vienna

Sibongile Ndashe (South Africa), Lawyer, Equality Programme, Interights, London

Mikewa Ogada (Kenya), Programme Officer, Kenyan Human Rights Commission, Nairobi

Michael O'Rawe (UK), Legal Intern, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Michelle O'Sullivan (South Africa), High Court Advocate and Member of the Cape Bar, Cape Town

Norani Othman (Malaysia), Professor of Sociology and Senior Fellow, Institute of Malaysian and International Studies; Member of the Board, Sisters in Islam, Kuala Lumpur

Ostalinda Maya Ovalle (Spain), Head of Women's Rights Unit, European Roma Rights Centre, Budapest

Prof. John Packer (Canada), Director, Human Rights Centre of the University of Essex, Colchester

Katherine Perks (UK), Legal Intern, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Dimitrina Petrova (Bulgaria), Executive Director, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Karrisha Pillay (South Africa), Advocate of the High Court and Member of the Cape Bar, Cape Town

Vadim Poleschchuk (Estonia), Country Expert, European Network of Legal Experts in the Nondiscrimination field; Legal Advisor, Legal Information Centre for Human Rights, Tallinn

Patricia Prendiville (Ireland), Executive Director, ILGA Europe (International Lesbian and Gay Association), Brussels

Prof. Roger Raupp Rios (Brazil), Judge and Professor of Law, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre

Edwin Rekosh (USA), Executive Director, Public Interest Law Institute, New York

Peter R. Rodrigues (The Netherlands), Director, Anne Frank House, Amsterdam

Michael Rubenstein (UK), Publisher, Rubenstein Publishing (Equal Opportunities Review), Trustee, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Daniel Sabbagh (France), Senior Research Fellow at the Centre d'études et de recherches internationales (CERI-Sciences Po), Paris

Anna Sevortyan (Russia), Deputy Director, Centre for the Development of Human Rights, Moscow

Shanon Shah (Malaysia), Author and activist, Sisters in Islam, Kuala Lumpur

José Thompson (Costa Rica), Director, Centre for Electoral Assistance and Promotion, San Jose

Susan Treadwell (USA), Program Officer, Open Society Institute, Budapest

Paola Uccellari (UK), Consultant, The Equal Rights Trust, London

Burul Usmanalieva (Kyrgyzstan), Senior Researcher, Public Foundation "Centre for Research and Social Development", Bishkek

Prof. Lisa Waddington (The Netherlands), Professor of Law, University of Maastricht, Maastricht

Prof. Roman Wieruszewski (Poland), Director, Poznań Centre for Human Rights, Poznań

Wan Yanhai (China), Director, Beijing AIZHIXING Institute of Health Education, Beijing